Washington, D.C. 20549





Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of

The Securities Exchange Act of 1934


Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): August 27, 2020


Qualigen Therapeutics, Inc.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)


Delaware   001-37428   26-3474527

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(I.R.S. Employer

Identification No.)


2042 Corte Del Nogal, Carlsbad, California 92011

(Address of principal executive offices) (Zip Code)


(760) 918-9165

(Registrant’s telephone number, including area code)



(Former name or former address, if changed since last report)


Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


[  ] Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)
[  ] Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)
[  ] Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))
[  ] Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))


Securities registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:


Title of each class   Trading Symbol   Name of each exchange on which registered
Common Stock, par value $.001 per share   QLGN   The Nasdaq Capital Market of The Nasdaq Stock Market LLC


Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an emerging growth company as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act (§230.405 of this chapter) or Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act (§240.12b-2 of this chapter).


Emerging growth company [X]


If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act [  ]







Item 5.02. Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Appointment of Certain Officers; Compensatory Arrangements of Certain Officers.


(d) On August 27, 2020, our Board of Directors (the “Board”) appointed Amy Broidrick as a member of the Board, to fill a vacant seat on the Board. The Board has determined that Ms. Broidrick is an independent director under applicable rules of the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) and the Nasdaq Stock Market LLC.


Ms. Broidrick will receive the standard compensation for her service at the same level as our other non-employee directors: a $40,000 annual cash stipend (prorated for time of service) and 50,000 stock options. Ms. Broidrick is expected to enter into our standard form of indemnification agreement.


It has not yet been determined which Board committee(s) Ms. Broidrick might serve on.


There is no arrangement or understanding between Ms. Broidrick and any other persons or entities pursuant to which she was elected as a director.


Since the beginning of our last fiscal year, there have been no transactions, or currently proposed transactions, in which we were or are to be a participant and the amount involved exceeds $120,000, and in which Ms. Broidrick, or any member of her immediate family, had or will have a direct or indirect material interest.


Since 2016, Ms. Broidrick has served as Senior Vice President, Global Head of Corporate Development of Viking Therapeutics, Inc. (Nasdaq: VKTX), a clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company. Before that, she was Vice President, Head of Global Marketing Excellence and Business Innovation with EMD Serono (part of Merck KGaA). Earlier, she was Vice President, Head of Marketing and Commercialization at Arena Pharmaceuticals, Inc., and had significant roles and responsibilities at Merck & Co., Inc. and G.D. Searle & Company.







Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Date: August 28, 2020 By: /s/ Michael S. Poirier
    Michael S. Poirier, President and Chief Executive Officer